Character Progression

I have to think about how I want to develop Carys and Bastian. Although I don’t have a whole lot of excess character points at the moment, it never hurts to think about these things.

Carys

There are some pretty straightforward options.

First, I can put character points into skills (mostly four at a time) to improve sword and shield. She is the main fighter, but it seems like she has ample skill for now.

I can put points into improving navigation and survival. She is not doing a great job on the journeys, so that makes sense. Unfortunately, those are also four points a piece. Still, it is a glaring weakness.

I can raise her strength. I allow for partial buys of stats, so since she already has extra HP, she could buy a ST for 8 points. That would raise her basic damage, which is helpful.

Obviously, I want to raise DX, but it is a 20 point investment, which is tough. With the number of skills she has at the levels they are at, it is probably the most efficient way to help her skills. It simply requires some delayed gratification.

Points in IQ would help with a bunch of her skills too, and she already has 5 points in Will. I could put five points into Per, and then look at buying up IQ later.

Right now I am leaning toward ST and IQ for the balance of effect vs immediate payoff.

Bastian

This is much more wide open.

Improving Healing is a priority. The most valuable change would be the Affects Self modifier from Powers. Right now Healing is modified with Divine (-10%), Injuries only (-20%), Capped at 2FP (-25%) and Faith Healing (+20%) for a total of (-35%). Affects Self is a big modifier (+50%) so it would raise the whole thing to (+15%) or 35 points. That would cost 15 points which is a lot, but would make Bastian much safer. I can increase the FP cap a bit at a time for 2 or 3 points. Eventually, I want to buy off Injuries only as well for 6 points.

True Faith is ok as is. I might look to improve it, but it is not a priority for me now.

He has a number of IQ skills that could use some benefit, so I may go that route, buying up Per and then IQ.

Something like Oracle or Precognition could fit thematically, but it seems impossible without a GM. Some afflictions or even innate attacks could fit. A force field DR is plausible. A stunning affliction with Malediction costs 20 points so it is an investment. If I limit use or make it cost FP I might be able to get it down to a reasonable place.

Overall, I want to improve Healing first, I think.

What do you think? Reflect on it yourself, or leave a comment and let me know.

 

Leave a comment